garden, May 5

We finally had a sunny weekend, and wouldn’t you know it — I woke up with a cough and runny nose. Owing to the ick, I didn’t do a whole lot outside. On Saturday, I did manage to plant the two grape vines and remaining raspberry vine. I also started hardening off the seedlings that were ready for it.

In the raised bed, beets, carrots, and fennel are coming up behind the radishes and carrots. Cilantro just started poking its head out of one of the containers, and I think the spinach and lettuce will be coming soon. (Assuming it’s actually spinach and lettuce and not just weeds.)

In the peat pods, I have leeks, sunflowers, chamomile, echinacea, Swiss chard, and romaine coming up. There are also two rows that I forgot to label; one is carrots that have not yet germinated (yes, I’m experimenting with starting these in peat pods even though everything recommends sowing directly into the garden bed), and the other is sprouting and I don’t remember what it is. Maybe broccoli, if I’m going off the open seed packets. Note to all: always label your seedlings to avoid the guessing game!

The only thing that hasn’t come up yet is the snap peas, and it has me a little concerned. They are usually among the first to start poking their heads out of the garden. I’m chalking this up to the fact that my kiddo got a little overly excited and soaked them in water for three days before they went into the ground. I might have to do a second sowing if I don’t see any progress soon.

Today, since I’m feeling better but was told not to come in to work, I started digging out a 3 x 6 plot in the backyard. I’m hoping this will be a good site for the squash and melons so they can sprawl. (Although now that I’m thinking about it, I might want to expand it another foot, to make it easier to get 2 square feet per plant.)  The soil is not particularly good — very sandy, which, while good for drainage, does not retain water in this dry climate.  I plan on amending it with a big dose of compost and organic matter, and mulch is going to be a very big necessity this year.

I still have a lot of work to do, but so far, I’m pleased with how everything is coming along. Now I just need to educate myself on cold season crops so I can be harvesting right now in addition to planting.

3 thoughts on “garden, May 5

  1. I can’t even get grass to come up, so I’m incredibly impressed with all that you’re doing right now. I can’t wait to see the sunflowers. 🙂

    • We’ll see if I get anything out of it this year! Last year was pretty much a bust. And now we are having a cold snap… I should have waiting to start moving things outside. Wacky desert weather. 🙂 But I’ll send you pictures once things get going.

      • I have complete faith in your gardening endeavors. 😉 You’d have more luck out my way, though. We have fantastic farming weather, and rich red clay dirt. *hint, hint* Then again, the grass my sister and I planted isn’t making its way up yet.

        Pictures, yes. I like pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

