garden, june 3 part II – tire pots

I’d be remiss if I failed to mention the tires that we spray-painted to use as flower pots.

tire pots

This idea came about because there is always the early-spring space struggle between the kiddo and I. She wants to plant flowers; I want to plant food. And there is never enough space for both of us to do all that we want to do. I had seen this idea on Pinterest, and since we had several old tires lying around, I thought it would be a fun project. But since I’m not sure if eating food grown in old rubber that is potentially leaching metal and contaminants (not to mention the paint), I was happy to give them over to flowers. They’ll also add a nice pop of color to the front yard.

A friend of mine is going to give me some seeds for giant sunflowers, and we’re going to create a little (ahem, huge) fairy ring in the yard, with an opening so that said kiddo can hang out (or hide) inside of it.

Link to the post that inspired the sunflower ring (#24): http://www.echobrown.com/2013/04/25/32-cheap-and-easy-backyard-ideas-that-are-borderline-genius/

9 thoughts on “garden, june 3 part II – tire pots

  1. Pingback: Link Tag: Grey Water, Gangsta Gardening, & Tiny Homes - Ever Growing Farm | Ever Growing Farm

Leave a Reply

