garden, april 26

Wowza. April has had a steep learning curve, which is ultimately a good thing, but it also means my plants are not quite where they should be at this point in the year.

My greens have been causing me a great deal of frustration, and I can’t remember the last time I had so much trouble getting them started. Some seeds simply weren’t germinating; others were coming up and dying shortly after.

Once I took a closer look, I discovered that, no, they weren’t just dying, something was eating them — I’m just not sure what. But I decided it was high time to get some row covers. So after work, I hightailed my hiney to the nursery and grabbed one before heading home. Unfortunately, in my rush, I failed to grab anything to make the hoops with. So we improvised; boyfriend gave me an old motorcycle fender that was the perfect length to span the bed, and then staked it down with rocks. It’s not pretty, but it’s functional. And adding a row cover worked! After just two days of being covered, my greens are coming back, and I’m even seeing new seedlings coming up.

This weekend, I decided to tackle a task that I’ve put off due to the sheer immensity of it: foxtails. Grass is such a rarity in the desert that I’m always hard-pressed to yank it out when it’s new and adding a little green to the yard. But now that it’s going to seed, I need to get on top of it before they start sticking to my pants and my cat and ending up all over the house. And they are EVERYWHERE — front yard, side yard, back yard, between the cracks in the sidewalk…

Luckily, I don’t mind physical labor, and actually find weeding to be largely meditative. I can easily get lost in the motion and spend a few hours outside, forgetting everything else (including putting on sunblock). So I got to work, and cleared out a good portion of the backyard patch where I’m hoping to put another raised bed:

IMG_3864

It doesn’t look like much, but it’s a huge start, considering the weeded section is about 4x bigger than the picture shows.

I was happy with what I accomplished, but I still have a long way to go. There’s still this:

IMG_3862

And this:

IMG_3858

And oh yeah, this:

IMG_3859

Yesterday’s forecast called for rain. Since it wasn’t coming down when I got out of bed, I set out to clear the front yard. I was about halfway done when the rain started coming down, so I decided to head inside. The rain turned to sleet. And then the sleet turned to snow.

IMG_3870

It looks like we’re going to have another year where we run close to the last frost date. Luckily, the latter half of this week has forecasted highs in the 70s, so hopefully then I can make up some lost ground.

Leave a Reply

